Skip to Content

ACC/Big Ten Women’s Matchups Announced Monday

Antigo, WI, United States /
ACC/Big Ten Women’s Matchups Announced Monday

The matchups for the ACC/Big Ten Women’s Basketball Challenge were announced on Monday.  The annual challenge is offering 14 games for the fifth consecutive season.

The challenge takes place over two days in late November, beginning Wednesday, Nov. 28th, and continuing the following night.

Last year’s Challenge proved to be one of the most competitive in the event’s history, with 10 of the 14 games decided by 10 points or fewer, including four games decided by one point, with the ACC ultimately prevailing by a 10-4 count.  Last year, Maryland, Penn State, Rutgers and Wisconsin registered wins for the Big Ten.

The Big Ten sent six schools to the NCAA Tournament in 2018, as Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska and Ohio State all advanced to the national tournament, with Ohio State earning a top four national seed.  Four other Big Ten teams, Indiana, Michigan State, Penn State and Purdue, took part in the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT).  Indiana won its first WNIT championship 66-57 over ACC member Virginia Tech in the title game.

Last season, the ACC had eight women’s basketball programs selected to the NCAA Tournament, while tow ACC schools competed in the WNIT.

2018 Matchups

Wednesday, Nov. 28

Duke at Wisconsin
Illinois at Clemson
Rutgers at Virginia Tech
Indiana at Wake Forest
Virginia at Michigan State

Thursday, Nov. 29

Iowa at Notre Dame
North Carolina at Ohio State
Georgia Tech at Maryland
Pittsburgh at Northwestern
Michigan at North Carolina State
Nebraska at Louisville
Syracuse at Minnesota

  • File/Photo credit to Bill Scott, WRN

Comments are closed.